Species Being

Species Being, Rhubarb Palace, Byrne Bridges

Species Being: Improv Prog Rock

Species Being is an improvisational progressive rock band from the San Francisco Bay Area. They are considered the forefathers of improvisational prog rock and are known for long lasting, dynamic sets. They originally operated from 1997 to 2002, releasing two records: Yonilicious and the critically acclaimed Orgone Therapy. 

Species Being, Orgone Therapy, Rhubarb Palace, Byrne Bridges
Available at iTunes – Click on image

The band is produced by former Sleepytime Gorilla Museum drummer Frank Grau. Other members include Kenseth Thibideau (Pinback, Howard HelloRumah Sakit), Mitch Cheney (Rumah Sakit), Graham Connah, Matt Lebofsky (Secret Chiefs 3, MoeTar, miRthkon), Jai Young Kim, (Secret Chiefs 3), Mike DiPirro (Free Peoples, Soulstice, Radioactive), Peter Glasser and Kurt Stenzel of Beyond-o-matic, Brad Davis, Steve Meicke, and Sam Morris.

Species Being, Rhubarb Palace, Byrne Bridges, Yonilicious
Available on iTunes – Click Image
Future Releases By Species Being From Rhubarb Palace Music

Rhubarb Palace has recently acquired the rights to Species Being’s two out of print releases Yonilicious and Orgone Therapy. They will be digitally released on June 1st, 2017.

Rhubarb Palace will also release Quasar: Selections from 1997-2002. Quasar is a digital only compilation of selected material from Yonilicious and Orgone Therapy. It also contains several unreleased tracks.

A new digital album from Species Being entitled Tecumseh is set for release by Rhubarb Palace on October 1st, 2017. It features former members Matt Lebofsky, Jai Young Kim, and Frank Grau.